The New Year is bringing good news for workers in California. Starting on Jan. 1, 2022, the new minimum wage went into effect for workers throughout the state. Important: California’s minimum wage is significantly higher than the federal minimum wage. Be sure you understand your wage and hour rights in California. If you have questions or believe your wage and hour rights have been violated, do not hesitate to contact a wage and hour law attorney.
Here is a breakdown of the new minimum wage requirements in California for 2022:
Employers of 26 or more
In 2022, employers with 26 or more employees must pay at least a minimum wage of $15 an hour. This is part of a statewide commitment made in 2016, so larger employers have had since then to prepare for the gradual increase.
Employers of 25 or fewer
In 2022, smaller businesses with 25 or fewer employees must pay a minimum wage of at least $14 an hour. Also, the $14 minimum wage for smaller employers will increase to $15 an hour in 2023.
What if you receive less?
California’s minimum wage requirements are set by state wage and hour laws. Some California cities actually require a higher minimum wage than the minimum required by state law. If you have questions about the minimum wage in your city, or if you are not receiving the proper minimum wage, you should contact a California employment law attorney. The problem may not be isolated, and multiple employees may be affected.
When an employer fails to pay multiple employees their due wages, a class action lawsuit or other representative action may be the best way to make the employer do what is right. Our overview of Employment Class Actions has more helpful information.