The minimum wage has been a major focus of California wage and hour law in recent years. Beginning with legislation passed in 2017, the California minimum wage has increased annually. This process will continue until 2023 and perhaps longer if subsequent legislation is enacted.
Current and future minimum wage requirements in California
In 2021, the minimum wage statewide in California is $14 an hour for employers with 26 or more employees.
In 2022, the minimum wage statewide will increase to $15 an hour for employers with 26 or more employees.
If an employer has 25 or fewer employees, the employer must pay a minimum wage of $13 an hour in 2021 — and $14 an hour in 2022.
Then, in 2023, employers with 25 or fewer employees will also have to pay at least $15 an hour.
Note: Some cities and counties have ordinances that require a higher minimum wage, and you should talk to an employment law attorney if you think your employer is failing to pay your full wages according to local laws.
Getting back pay for unpaid wages
Employment laws in California are some of the strongest in the world for employees. If you believe your employer has failed to pay your rightful minimum wage or your rightful overtime pay, talk to an experienced employment law attorney about your options. You may be owed significant back pay, and the problem may not be isolated to your case. If the problem is widespread, there may be grounds for a class action lawsuit to help you and your coworkers get the wages you are owed.